Jah Send Me Come!

Dignitary

digni back

digni label

Ringde och snackade med Dignitary Stylish idag för att ha lite mer info att fylla ut hans sida på Reggaepedia. Blir alltid lika uppspelt när jag snackar med en legend. Det tog dock en liten oanad vändning när jag förde på tal hans första skiva.

»- I've got to tell you that your album, Jah Send Me Come, is one of the best deejay albums I've heard, Horace. I mean it's such a...
-Wah? It sounds SHIT, man! Too much computer deh bout, yunno?! At those times we
[Conrod Green och Dignitary] we're just playing with the computers. We didn't know how it should sound ... «

Hade aldrig förväntat mig att en av mina absoluta favoritplattor skulle ratas så hårt av artisten själv. Speciellt inte när den är en mästerlig uppvisning av hur hårt och organiskt det digitala kan låta. En av de absolut bästa deejayplattorna någonson. I övrigt måste jag nog säga att Digni var en av de mest ödmjuka och trevliga artister jag någonsin talat med. Det kunde man nästan ana av hans intelligenta och positiva texter. Att han numera arbetar en hel del med välgörenhet är bara ett vidare bevis på detta.

När samtalet led mot sitt slut så avrundade han allt med;
»- Joakim ... let me tell you. That you called me this early [hade glömt tidsskillnaden lite och ringde honom 7:30 på Miami-tid ... hehe] is a blessing. I really apprecilove it! Now when I go to work today I feel that I make a difference.«

Vad ska man säga? Man kan bara rodna och gilla honom än mer! Gwan popa Digni - the wise intelligent deejay stallawatt!

Dignitary på Reggaepedia;
http://reggaelicious.pbwiki.com/Dignitary-Stylish

Kommentarer
Postat av: Magnus

Haha, brilliant comment about the album! I wonder if that is how the great 80's deejays generally feel about their early works now a days... By the way - my JA copy of the album has a slightly different blue label.

2009-03-21 @ 22:49:26
Postat av: Skeng Bubbler

It makes one wonder at least. But I think they're generally very proud of their work. Digni doesn't seem to be the run-of-the-mill type of person though.



I think I've seen the blue label. I think that's a 90's issue. Only seen it on 90's issues of Harmodio-music.

2009-03-26 @ 10:16:54
Postat av: Magnus

Interesting. I don't think my copy is a reissue. It says 1986 on the label and the guy I bought it from said he bought it on Jamaica in the 80s. Check out the alternative label:

http://img156.imageshack.us/img156/9538/digni1copy.jpg

2009-03-27 @ 16:38:08
Postat av: Skeng Bubbler

Oi Magnus! You're probably right. Reason I thought it was a 90's issue is strictly based on that I've only seen those labels on 90's to 00's issues of the label. But there's no reason to count it out only as an 90's issue.

2009-03-27 @ 16:52:04
URL: http://newromantic.blogg.se/

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0